My portable operating table and the radio and clock mounting plates.

Hi all,

Following a question from a Ham Radio Australia Facebook page member I put together a very quick video showing what I have done. It is a bit rough and ready but it works.

As I only have a Ford Fiesta as transport I have to keep all my gear small. (This happens to suit me fine).

The slots in the table were made by using an Ozito Multi Function Tool and the small plunge type saw.

The mounting brackets are light guage aluminium sheet roughly cut to shape with a pair of straight shears. Being flat the plates fit easily in my little case with the radio, assorted cables, coax adapters clock etc.

Here is the video:-

I hope that this help someone by giving them a better idea or just by using this as a guide.

73

Col. VK5HCF

 

This entry was posted in MY SETUP. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My portable operating table and the radio and clock mounting plates.

  1. VK2TWR says:

    Hi Col a good set up for you blokes doing parks I wouldn’t be able to allow myself the luxury on Sota activations in the back country to video thanks

    • vk5hcf says:

      Hi Rod, Thank you for the kind words. I agree. It would be far too much for a S.O.T.A. activation but we only have one summit, (pimple- Mt. Burr. VK5/SE-018. 240 metres) within 50 kilometres of us here in Mt. Gambier. My setup is strictly for parks and I would have to leave most of it behind to do a summit. Look forward to working you again soon. 73.

      • VK2TWR says:

        yep Col heading out tomorrow for a 4 summit activation if the heat doesn’t get Me
        73 old mate

  2. Andrew VK1AD says:

    Great post Col! You have provide a solution to one of my problems, keeping the HT standing upright in the wind, I can clip the back of the HT over a piece of aluminum plate, excellent! 🙂
    Cheers, Andrew (VK1AD)

    • vk5hcf says:

      Hi Andrew. I am glad that the post gave you an idea. Someone asked me how I supported things on the table and I thought, OK a description and a quick video might help someone else so I am very pleased that it gave you some inspiration. Thanks for the comment. 73

  3. vk5bje says:

    Hi Col
    I like your set up but I doubt whether I could put my legs under your table. I am too tall! But having fixed locations for your gear is a great idea. Every time I do an activation the real-estate picture varies! I usually have the radio slightly to my right but with no fixed locations for the other bits and pieces.
    Well done.

    Cheers
    John D
    VK5BJE

  4. vk5hcf says:

    Hi John, Are you accusing me of being vertically challenged? (hihi).
    Everything about my activations is compact out of necessity as, although there is a surprising amount of room in the “shopping trolley” it does have it’s limits.
    Nice to hear from you John. 73.

  5. Chris Megaw says:

    Thanks Col, must get around to getting myself a table and get it off the ground (or my lap!)
    Chris
    VK4FR/5

Leave a Reply

