Gower C.P. 5CP-079. VKFF-0798.

Once I had finished my activation of the Tantanoola Caves C.P. I moved around the corner, (see map in the Tantanoola Caves C.P. post below), and set up in my usual spot in a small clearing 50 metres from the four way corner on the North Western edge of the Park.

This spot has just enough room to set up a 40 metre antenna, park the car off the road and still have room for the table and chair, battery etc. I have driven around most of the Park boundary and have yet to find a better spot as most of the Park appears to be covered in knee deep bracken fern. After my close encounter with an amorous pair of Tiger snakes whilst at Penambol C.P. on the Saturday afternoon this puts me off as it’s a fair distance to medical help if you get bitten.

My first contact occured at 04:42 UTC and was with Andrew, VK5MR who was portable in the Lake Torrens N.P. West of Roxby Downs, so I started this activation off in style with a rare one.

I stayed in this park for about an hour and a half before packing up and heading home but, although it was hard work getting my eight contacts I enjoyed every minute. The weather was reasonable, given that at one point it rained over at Tantanoola and the clouds looked threatening all day. (Although the sun came out and it warmed up as I was heading home.

Click to enlarge

Here is a copy of my F.L.E. log entry for this Park.

Although not big on quantity it is big on quality.

Many thanks to those who gave me a call, (and who I was fortunate enough to be able to actually work due to the up and down conditions).

As I said before, I enjoyed the day, and hope that I can overcome my lack of motivationĀ and get out in the bush again soon.

73 & 44 to all.

This entry was posted in HOME. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gower C.P. 5CP-079. VKFF-0798.

  1. VK5PAS, Paul says:

    Hi Col,

    Sorry, Marija VK5FMAZ and I missed you at this one. Nice to bag Lake Torrens NP. That is not put on air very often. It’s a great part of SA. David VK5KC, John VK5BJE and I activated from there back in June 2015 during our Farina trip.

    Thanks for taking part in the 4th year anniversary weekend.

    73,

    Paul VK5PAS.

  2. vk5hcf says:

    Hi Paul,
    I am sorry that I could not hang around at Tantanoola Caves for you to go down to 3.610 Mhz but I needed to get to Gower by the time I had advertised. It was great to work Andrew at Lake Torrens N.P. but I think I worked you when you were there as well?
    Thanks for another great weekend. Well done.
    Cheers,
    Col. VK5HCF

  3. vk5bje says:

    Hi Col
    I always enjoy your stories of your activations. Well done on this one and I am glad you missed the snakes!
    Cheers
    John D
    VK5BJE/VK5PF

  4. vk5hcfCol says:

    G’Day John,
    Nice to hear from you and thanks for the kind words. I hope that all is well with you as I have not heard much of you of late?
    I must get out more often as I really enjoyed the weekends activations and having the chance to meet Tony, VK3XV and XYL Sheryl was great too.

Leave a Reply

